Are Doritos Gluten-Free?
“Are Doritos gluten-free?” is a tricky question to answer. In short: one flavor is a definite YES, some flavors of Doritos are a MOST LIKELY, and some are a definite NO! Keep reading to find out about your favorite Doritos flavor and if it meets your specific gluten-free standards. Also, find other safe (and great tasting!) substitutes to your favorite Doritos flavors that aren’t gluten-free.
Are you new here? I also have the following posts to help you implement the gluten-free dietwithout the stress!
- The guide to eating out SAFELY when you’re gluten-free
- 20 of the best gluten-free snacks
- What’s the deal with gluten-free certification and labeling?
- How to travel to an all-inclusive resort when you’re gluten-free
…and of course, you should join my EXCLUSIVE Facebook community “Stress-Free Gluten-Free” by clicking here!
This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. My full disclosure isn’t that interesting, but you can find it here.
Do Doritos Contain Gluten?
- U.S. Gluten-Free Products.
These are chip products that have been validated through Frito-Lay analytical testing that the specific products fit the terms for being labeled “gluten-free” according to FDA guidelines. In other words, they’ve been tested to contain less than 20 ppm of gluten. Therefore, these products should be considered as being a safe level for individuals with Celiac Disease or other gluten sensitivity.
- U.S. Products Not Containing Gluten Ingredients.
These chip products are formulated without gluten-containing grains (wheat, barley, or rye). However, Frito-Lay has not tested these products to be under 20 ppm of gluten. Furthermore, these products may (a) be produced on the same equipment that sometimes processes gluten, or (b) the ingredients may have been contaminated with gluten prior to manufacturing. Therefore, while these items may meet the standard by some individuals with gluten intolerances, they do not meet the standards to be labeled as gluten-free. Personally, I do not view these products as safe for individuals with Celiac Disease, allergies, or other levels of gluten intolerance.
Again, while this post is frequently updated, manufacturer processes change frequently. Therefore, be sure to double check every bag’s ingredient labels for allergy warnings for wheat, barley, or rye as well as any gluten-free labeling on the package. If in doubt, remember: do not risk being glutened! Be sure to contact Frito-Lay’s Consumer Relations toll-free at 1-800-352-4477 for the most up to date information.
Keep reading for the full current list of Doritos flavors and their gluten-free status as of 5/18/20.
Are you ready to simplify your dinner routine?
Download “FIVE IN FIVE”–my FREE
e-cookbook of simple & easy gluten free dinners containing 5 ingredients or less!
But first let’s zero in on the two most popular flavors: Nacho Cheese Doritos and Cool Ranch Doritos.
Are Nacho Cheese Doritos Gluten-Free?
In the United States, Doritos Nacho Cheese Flavored Tortilla Chips are manufactured without gluten but have not been tested to be gluten-free. The same is true for Doritos Spicy Nacho Cheese Flavored Tortilla Chips.
If you’re looking for a safe gluten-free nacho cheese flavored tortilla chip option, definitely scroll down to the options at the end of this post! There are some great certified gluten-free chip options.
Are Cool Ranch Doritos Gluten-Free?
In the United States, Doritos Cool Ranch Flavored Tortilla Chips are manufactured without gluten but have not been tested to be gluten-free.
If you’re looking for a safe gluten-free cool ranch flavored tortilla chip option, be sure to scroll down to the options at the end of this post! There are some great certified gluten-free ranch flavored chip options.
Doritos Products Labeled and Tested to be Gluten-Free.
According to Frito-Lay’s website, the only Doritos flavor that meets gluten-free labeling requirements is:
- DORITOS® Simply Organic White Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips
Doritos Products Not Containing Gluten Ingredients but Not Verified to Be Gluten-Free
According to Frito-Lay’s website, the following Doritos products/flavors are not manufactured with gluten-containing ingredients but may become contaminated during manufacturing and processing.
- DORITOS® Cool Ranch® Flavored Tortilla Chips
- DORITOS® Dinamita® Chile Limón Flavored Rolled Tortilla Chips
- DORITOS® Flamas™ Flavored Tortilla Chips
- DORITOS® Flamin’ Hot® Limon Flavored Tortilla Chips
- DORITOS® Flamin’ Hot® Nacho Flavored Tortilla Chips
- DORITOS® Flavor Shots Fiery Habanero Triangles
- DORITOS® Nacho Cheese Flavored Tortilla Chips
- DORITOS® Poppin’ Jalapeño Flavored Tortilla Chips
- DORITOS® Salsa Verde Flavored Tortilla Chips
- DORITOS® Simply Organic Spicy White Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips
- DORITOS® Spicy Nacho Flavored Tortilla Chips
- DORITOS® Taco Flavored Tortilla Chips
- DORITOS® Tapatio® Flavored Tortilla Chips
Doritos Products Containing Gluten Ingredients
The following products are listed as containing wheat products in the ingredients on Doritos’ website:
- DORITOS® Flavor Shots (all flavors)
- DORITOS® Spicy Sweet Chili
Best Gluten-Free Alternatives to Doritos (and where to buy them!)
The following brands of chips are certified gluten-free (meaning they have been independently batch tested and verified to have under 20 ppm of gluten) and are great tasting alternatives to Doritos.
Paqui chips are probably the closest alternative to Doritos (in my opinion) and come in flavors such as Nacho Cheese, Fiery Chile Limon, Zesty Salsa Verde, and Haunted Ghost Pepper.
Shop Paqui chips on Amazon here. (plus, these are eligible for subscribe & save, so stock up!)
Late July corn chips are another great alternative to Doritos. While they have many varieties of basic tortilla chips, they also have flavors like Nacho Chipotle and Mild Green Mojo.
note: the brand Late July does sell some products that contain wheat, be sure your individual item is certified gluten-free before ordering.
Late July products are sold on both Amazon and Thrive Market. Click through to cost compare:
Purchase Late July chips on Amazon here.
Purchase Late July chips at Thrive Market here.
Siete tortilla chips are not only certified gluten-free by grain-free, dairy-free, and vegan as well. These chips taste excellent but are thinner than Doritos. They come in flavors such as Nacho, Ranch, and Lime.
Siete products are sold on both Amazon and Thrive Market. Click through to cost compare:
Purchase Siete tortilla chips on Amazon here.
Purchase Siete chips at Thrive Market here.
Beanitos are a bean-based tortilla chip that comes in a wide range of flavors. Flavors include the typical Nacho, Ranch, and Lime, but also some unique flavors such as Sweet Chili and Sour Cream and Red Hot Cajun.
While Beanitos are likely to be found in a local grocery store, their products are also sold on Amazon for a better price (and Amazon sells them in individual packs as well for easy portion control).
Shop Beanitos on Amazon here.
Beanfields chips are another bean-based tortilla chip coming in a wide range of flavors. All flavors of Beanfields are not only certified gluten-free but are vegan as well. Notable flavors include Nacho Cheese, Jalapeno Nacho, Salt & Vinegar, and Pico De Gallo.
Beanfields chips may be at your local grocery store, but you can usually get a better deal on either Amazon (these are eligible for Subscribe & Save and often have coupons) or Thrive Market.
Shop Beanfields chips at Amazon here.
Shop Beanfields chips at Thrive Market here.