Do you like having French Fries as a side dish, but you aren’t sure which ones you can have?
This article will cover what you need to know about ‘are French fries gluten-free?’, a list of gluten-free brands to try, where to buy them, and what fast food restaurants have safe gluten free fries.
Use the Table of Contents below to navigate to the section of your choice or keep reading for the best gluten-free French Fry brands, or what some might call potato fries.
Are you new here? I also have the following posts to help you live gluten-free without the stress!
- How to eat out SAFELY when you’re gluten-free
- How to make ANY recipe gluten-free
- How to TRAVEL gluten-free and still have fun
…get valuable support from me, and gluten-free peers, in my EXCLUSIVE Facebook community “Stress-Free Gluten-Free” by clicking here!
The gluten-free guide below is based on personal experience and research. Always be sure to discuss any medical changes with your doctor for your personal medical needs. Additionally, this post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. My full disclosure isn’t that interesting, but you can find it here.
Ready to take back control of your meals and love your gluten free life? Take the 45 second quiz to get a personalized plan with the guide you need to thrive!
Are French Fries Gluten-Free?
Potatoes do not contain gluten, however, fries can have gluten in seasonings, be coated with gluten-containing flours to get extra crispy, or be fried in a shared fryer.
Studies show that 1/4 of gluten-free foods cooked in a shared fryer with gluten will be well over the acceptable limit for the presence of gluten in gluten-free foods and not safe for people with celiac disease.
If you’re looking for certified gluten-free French Fries, I’ve listed a few brands below and where you can buy them.
Are Sweet Potato Fries Gluten-Free?
Just like regular potatoes, sweet potatoes do not contain gluten, however sweet potato fries can have gluten in seasonings, be coated with gluten-containing flours to get extra crispy, or be fried in a shared fryer.
Gluten is a protein found in various different grains, including wheat, rye, barley, or oats if they weren’t grown separately from gluten-containing grains. You might see these ingredients on the ingredients list of the nutrient label instead of the word ‘gluten’ itself.
According to the FDA, a product can only be labeled as gluten-free in the United States if it contains less than 20 ppm of gluten per kilogram, so you will want to watch for cross-contact during processing.
Can You Eat French Fries On A Gluten-Free Diet?
Yes, you absolutely can eat fries on a gluten-free diet. You will want to ensure you are cooking them in a separate fryer from other foods that contain gluten or cook in the oven. If you are eating out, it’s important to ask questions about what ingredients they are using and whether there’s a dedicated fryer with no gluten.
Are Frozen French Fries Gluten-Free?
Not all frozen potato fries are gluten-free. You will find some that are and others that are not. When shopping for fries, check the labels to see if they contain gluten.
How To Tell If Frozen Fries Are Gluten-Free
Some gluten-free fries will be labeled gluten-free on the packaging. If you do not see it labeled, take a minute to look at the ingredients on the packaging.
You can also check the company’s website or contact them for more information and clarification on ingredients.
Gluten-Free Frozen Fry Brands
You should be able to find some great gluten-free french fries at your local grocery store, but there are great options available at online retailers too like Whole Foods through Amazon or Thrive Market.
- Alexia Organic Yukon Select Fries
- Ore-Ida Gluten-Free Frozen Golden Crinkles French Fries
- Strong Roots Mixed Root Vegetable Fries
Alexia Organic Yukon Select Fries
Alexia Organic Yukon Select Fries are certified organic, dye and color additive-free, and pesticide free.
While some of Alexia’s products contain gluten, Alexia will label any gluten-containing grains on the ingredient list.
You can also find Alexia Fries in waffle cut, sweet potato, and oven crinkle with sea salt.
These fresh and crisp fries are great tasting and perfect to make in the air fryer!
To shop for Alexia Organic Yukon Select Fries, visit Whole Foods through Amazon here or Thrive Market here.
Ore-Ida Gluten-Free Frozen Golden Crinkles French Fries
Ore-Ida Gluten-Free Frozen Golden Crinkles French Fries are certified kosher and made from the highest quality Grade A potatoes grown in the U.S.A. All of Ore-Ida’s frozen french fry varieties are labeled gluten-free.
Shop Target to find Ore-Ida Gluten-Free Frozen Golden Crinkles French Fries here.
Strong Roots Mixed Root Vegetable Fries
If you’re looking for an untraditional twist on the classic French fry, try these mixed root vegetable fries by Strong Roots. Not only are they labeled gluten free and vegan, but they are made of an assortment of vegetables for a variety of nutrients.
Vegetables that the whole family can enjoy!
You can find Strong Roots mixed root vegetable fries at Whole Foods by Amazon here.
Are Fast Food French Fries Restaurants Gluten-Free?
In most cases, fast food French Fries are not gluten-free.
If any of the fast food restaurant fries only contain gluten-free ingredients, you will still want to talk to the staff to ensure that they use a fryer that is dedicated gluten-free at that specific franchise.
Frequently Asked Questions about Gluten-Free French Fries
Do McDonald’s Fries Contain Gluten?
Yes, McDonald’s fries contain gluten ingredients.
Are Wendy’s French Fries gluten-free?
Though Wendy’s fries do not directly contain gluten, they are cooked in the same oil as items that do contain gluten.
Are Burger Kings Fries gluten-free?
Burger King fries do not contain gluten, however, they are cooked in a shared fryer with menu items that do contain gluten.
Are Chick-Fil-A Waffle Fries gluten-free?
Yes, Chick-Fil-A waffle fries are gluten-free. While many locations use a dedicated fryer for their waffle fries, you want to double-check with your location that this is the case before ordering.
Are Five-Guys Fries gluten-free?
Five-Guys fries do not contain gluten, though you will want to ask about ingredients in the Cajun-style fries as they are seasoned.
Did you find this post on gluten-free french fries helpful? If so, be sure to share it on social using the share buttons below or pin it to Pinterest to save it for later!
What’s they key to loving your gluten free life? Take this quick quiz to get a personalized plan with the guide you need to thrive!
Other posts & recipes you will love:
- Wahlburgers: A Gluten-Free Restaurant Review
- Accordion Hasselback Waffle Potatoes
- Homemade Greek Seasoning Recipe
- Is cheese gluten free?