Skip to Content

Is Root Beer Gluten Free? + The Best GF Brands to Try!

Sharing is caring!

Whether you like root beer as a traditional soda or mixed with ice cream to make a delicious float, if you follow a gluten free diet, you’re probably wondering ‘is there gluten in root beer’? 

The good news is that most root beer is gluten free! It’s important to keep in mind that the ingredients will change with each brand of root beer, so it is necessary to double check the label first.

Keep reading for a list of the best gluten free root beer brands to buy. Or, if you have a favorite brand that you want to check out, use the table of contents to jump right to it.

Are you new here? I also have the following posts to help you live gluten-free without the stress!

…get valuable support from me, and gluten-free peers, in my EXCLUSIVE Facebook community “Stress-Free Gluten-Free” by clicking here!

The gluten-free guide below is based on personal experience and research.  Always be sure to discuss any medical changes with your doctor for your personal medical needs. Additionally, this post contains affiliate links.  As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. My full disclosure isn’t that interesting, but you can find it here

Ready to take back control of your meals and love your gluten free life? Take the 45 second quiz to get a personalized plan with the guide you need to thrive!

image of sharon mccaskill with computer with snag your ideal gluten free eating plan

>> Click here for your custom guide to success! <<

What is Root Beer?

Root beer is a type of soft drink that has been around since at least the eighteenth century. Its distinct flavor traditionally came from the root bark of the sassafras tree.

The main ingredients used to make root beer are filtered water, sugar and sassafras extract. Depending on the brand, the recipe might also include herbs and spices like wintergreen, licorice, ginger, cinnamon or nutmeg.

In the 1960s, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration banned safrole, a key component of sassafras, and since then root beer has been flavored using artificial sassafras extract. 

In addition to its unique flavor, root beer is also known for having a foamy head. The thick foam on the top is what makes it the perfect soft drink for making an ice cream float.

Root beer can be found as a non-alcoholic soda or as an alcoholic beverage known as hard root beer.

Is Root Beer Gluten Free?

The main ingredients in root beer are naturally gluten free, which is great news if you follow a gluten free diet. That being said, it depends entirely on the recipe each brand uses to produce their distinct root beer.

As is the case with most food and beverages, manufacturers will sometimes add flavorings or preservatives to their recipes that can contain gluten. These added ingredients are why there is rarely a definitive answer to whether or not a product is gluten free.

The easiest and most effective way to determine if a product is gluten free or not, is to learn to read and understand the different types of gluten free labeling and certification. This helpful guide will walk you through understanding the difference.

The other thing you can always do is check the ingredients list for allergen warnings. If the list says the product contains (or may contain) wheat, rye or barley then it is not gluten free. Since wheat, rye and barley are the most commonly found sources of gluten, anything that contains those ingredients is not safe to consume.

Is Hard Root Beer Gluten Free?

Hard root beer can be gluten free, but just like with non-alcoholic soda it will depend entirely on the brand. 

Be sure to read the ingredients list, check for gluten free labeling, or contact the manufacturer to determine whether or not the brand you’re considering is gluten free.

You can learn all about which alcohols are gluten free and why they may or may not be safe to consume with this Ultimate Guide to Gluten Free Alcohol.

Can Celiacs have Root Beer?

Yes, celiacs can have root beer as long as it is a gluten free brand! 

go puff paper bag with grocery essentials on desk

Sick of making grocery runs? Me too!

Try GoPuff for quick and easy grocery delivery including your favorite gluten-free essentials!

Get $100 off + free delivery on SUMMER snacks, drinks, booze & more. Use Code: Welcome1010 

What brands of root beer are gluten free?

Barq’s Root Beer

If you love the Coca-Cola brand, you’re probably wondering ‘is Barq’s root beer gluten free’? I have great news! Coca-Cola soda products, including Barq’s root beer, are gluten free.

Unlike many other brands of root beer, Barq’s contains caffeine, so if you’re looking for a pick-me-up, this could be the perfect brand for you. The delicious flavor is an added bonus.

Buy Barq’s Root Beer on Amazon here.
Or snag it on GoPuff here.

Wild Bill’s Root Beer

If you need a vegan-friendly gluten free root beer, Wild Bill’s is the brand for you. It is also free of High fructose corn syrup and caffeine.

Wild Bill’s is sweetened with pure cane sugar, giving Wild Bill’s beverages a superior taste, creamy texture and nostalgic flavor.

Buy Wild Bill’s Root Beer at Amazon here.

Bundaberg Root Beer

Bundaberg root beer is brewed in Australia with a recipe that combines sarsaparilla root, ground ginger licorice root, vanilla bean and molasses. It is gluten free and made using no GMO containing ingredients or processes.

This root beer is less sweet than other options and makes a great root beer float.

Buy Bundaberg Root Beer on Amazon here.
Or snag it at GoPuff here.

Maine Root Soda Root Beer

What I love most about the Maine Root brand of root beer is that it is made in a dedicated gluten free, allergy-friendly facility, so I know it is completely safe for gluten free consumption. It is also fair trade and climate pledge friendly.

It’s caffeine free and doesn’t contain any high fructose corn syrup.

Purchase Maine Root Soda Root Beer from Amazon here.
Or get it at GoPuff here.

Sprecher Root Beer

Are you wondering ‘is Sprecher Root Beer gluten free’? Yes! It is gluten free. It’s also caffeine free and has only 25 calories per serving. To get a decadent, refreshing creaminess this brand is uniquely fire-brewed in a handmade brew kettle.

All of the Sprecher sodas are gluten free, so you can mix it up anytime you want!

Add Sprecher Root Beer to your next Amazon order here.
Or get it with free delivery from GoPuff here.

Virgil’s Root Beer

Virgil’s brand of root beer is both gluten free and kosher. It’s a micro-brewed root beer made from all-natural ingredients. This is a non-alcoholic soda that is caffeine free.

You’ll also love how good this root beer tastes!

Buy Virgil’s Root Beer on Whole Foods through Amazon here.
Or get it from GoPuff here.

Root Sellers Row Hard Root Beer

Looking for a hard root beer that’s gluten free? Root Sellers Row Hard Root Beer is brewed with pure cane sugar, molasses, spices and botanicals. Since it is made without grain it is gluten free.

Inspired by the traditional brews first made by American colonists, it has a cream head with notes of vanilla, molasses, sassafras and wintergreen.
Buy Root Sellers Row Hard Root Beer from Drizly here.

Frequently Asked Questions about Root Beer:

Is A&W Root Beer Zero Sugar Gluten-Free?

A&W Root Beer is manufactured by the Keurig Dr Pepper Company. According to their website, their “US products comply with the U.S. Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act and other regulations” and that allergens will be identified on the products label.

In Canada, the Dr. Pepper website indicates that all of the Keurig Dr Pepper products are gluten free.

Is Mug Root Beer Gluten Free?

According to the Pepsi Co website, their “company does not currently make gluten free label claims, but none of the ingredients in their products are derived from grains or flours that have been linked to malabsorption syndrome associated with gluten sensitivity.”

Is Abita Root Beer Gluten Free?

Yes! According to their website, Abita Root Beer is gluten free.

Is Not Your Father’s Root Beer Gluten Free?

Yes! Not Your Father’s Root beer is gluten free.

Did you find this post about gluten free soda helpful?

If so, be sure to pin this post to reference later on. While you’re at it, share it on social media!

Ready to take back control of your meals and love your gluten free life? Take the 45 second quiz to get a personalized plan with the guide you need to thrive!

image of sharon mccaskill with computer with snag your ideal gluten free eating plan

>> Click here for your customized guide to success! <<

Other Posts You’ll Love:

A mug of root beer with foam overflowing onto the table and a text overlay that says "Is root beer gluten free? + the best brands to buy"

Sharing is caring!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.