Skip to Content

Is Popcorn Gluten Free?  

Sharing is caring!

If you are gluten-free you may be wondering: Is popcorn gluten-free?

Not all popcorn is gluten-free, however, there are some really great gluten-free brands that you can purchase.

This article will answer the question “is popcorn gluten free?” including a list of gluten-free brands to try and where to buy them. 

Use the Table of Contents below to navigate to the section of your choice or keep reading for the best gluten-free popcorn brands.

Are you new here? I also have the following posts to help you live gluten-free without the stress!

…get valuable support from me, and gluten-free peers, in my EXCLUSIVE Facebook community “Stress-Free Gluten-Free” by clicking here!

The gluten-free guide below is based on personal experience and research.  Always be sure to discuss any medical changes with your doctor for your personal medical needs. Additionally, this post contains affiliate links.  As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. My full disclosure isn’t that interesting, but you can find it here

Ready to take back control of your meals and love your gluten free life? Take the 45 second quiz to get a personalized plan with the guide you need to thrive!

image of sharon mccaskill with computer with snag your ideal gluten free eating plan

>> Click here for your custom guide to success! <<

Is Movie Theater Popcorn Gluten-Free?

While popcorn kernels do not contain gluten, it will depend on the butter sauce and what is in it. It is important to note that though butter itself is gluten-free, the butter sauce used for popcorn is typically not real butter but a mix of oils, flavorings, and filters.

Therefore, it will be necessary to look at an ingredients list at the movie theater or contact the company.

When checking the ingredients list remember: gluten is a protein found in various different grains, including wheat, rye, barley, or oats if they weren’t grown separately from gluten-containing grains.

You might see these ingredients on the ingredients list of the nutrient label instead of the word ‘gluten’ itself.

According to the FDA, a product can only be labeled as gluten-free in the United States if it contains less than 20 ppm of gluten, so you will want to watch for cross-contact during processing.

Can I Eat Popcorn With Celiac Disease?

Yes, it is safe for people with celiac disease to eat popcorn, you just need to check to be sure there are not any gluten-containing ingredients.

While popcorn is naturally gluten-free, I would suggest being safe and giving the label a check just to make sure–especially when dealing with flavored popcorn as additional ingredients are added. 

If you’re looking for gluten-free popcorn, I’ve listed a few brands below and where you can buy them. 

Best Gluten-Free Popcorn Brands

Below are some brands of gluten-free microwave popcorn and gluten-free prepared popcorn.

Gluten-Free Microwave Popcorn:

Quinn Snack White Cheddar Microwave Popcorn

Quinn Snack White Cheddar Microwave Popcorn is gluten-free, vegetarian friendly, and has no added sugars or sweeteners.

Quinn Snacks White Cheddar Microwave Popcorn 2 bags (3.5 oz each)

Enjoy this white cheddar-flavored popcorn that is easy to make and tastes good. You may also enjoy trying Quinn Snack Sea Salt Microwave Popcorn. 

You can shop for Quinn Snacks Microwave Popcorn on Thrive Market or find variety packs on Amazon here.

Jolly Time Healthy Pop Microwave Popcorn 

Jolly Time Healthy Pop Microwave Popcorn is Non-GMO and gluten-free.

This great snack has 0 trans fat and 0 cholesterol, this healthy alternative is full of flavor. 

You can find Jolly Time Healthy Pop Microwave Popcorn on Amazon here.

Preferred Popcorn Microwave Popcorn 

Preferred Popcorn Microwave Popcorn is gluten-free, Non-GMO with all-natural ingredients.

This tasty and satisfying microwave popcorn comes highly recommended if you are looking for a healthy popcorn snack. 

To shop Preferred Popcorn Microwave Popcorn, visit Amazon here.

SkinnyPop Sea Salt Microwave Popcorn 

SkinnyPop Sea Salt Microwave Popcorn is gluten-free, dairy-free, and packaged in a chemical-free microwave bag.

This microwave popcorn is only 25 calories per cup and is the perfect healthy snack for family nights together or to enjoy yourself. 

To shop SkinnyPop Sea Salt Microwave Popcorn, visit Amazon here.

Gluten-Free Prepared Popcorn

Popcorn Indiana

Popcorn Indiana is certified gluten-free, non-GMO, has no artificial ingredients, and is made with real butter. 

If you are looking for popcorn that tastes just like what you would get at the movie theater, then you will want to try Popcorn Indiana Movie Theater Butter. They also have flavors such as Black and White Drizzle, Sweet & Salty, and Sea Salt.

To shop Popcorn Indiana and the variety of flavors it offers, shop Amazon here.


SkinnyPop is gluten-free and dairy-free popcorn that is a good source of fiber. 

This popcorn is a delicious snack to enjoy alone or with your family.

Order the snack bags in bulk on Amazon here

Boomchickapop Popcorn

Boomchicapop Popcorn is certified gluten-free. It is also vegetarian and vegan friendly. 

This light snack is a family favorite that also gives you a flavor that will not be missed. 

You can find Boomchicapop at more local grocery stores but can also be found on Thrive Market here or on Amazon here.

Lesser Evil Organic Himalayan Gold Popcorn

Lesser Evil Organic makes many flavors of popcorn that are certified gluten-free, dairy-free, and vegan friendly. 

The Himalayan Gold popcorn is delicious and is a fan favorite. It is cooked with organic coconut oil and plant extracts that mimic a butter flavor. 

You can find the various flavors of Lesser Evil popcorn on Thrive Market by clicking here or Amazon here.

How To Make Gluten-Free Popcorn At Home?

To make your own gluten-free popcorn at home, all you need is: 

To begin, add the coconut oil to the pot and let melt.  

Once melted add a few kernels and see if they pop. Once popped, add in the remaining cup of kernels and shake the pot every 30 seconds to ensure the popcorn doesn’t burn. 

When popping subsides, remove from heat and pour into a bowl. 

An alternative way to make your own popcorn is by using the microwave.

You will need:

In a bowl place ½ cup popcorn kernels, ½ tsp olive, and a dash of salt. Mix together and place in microwave and cover with lid.

Microwave for 3 to 5 minutes, stopping when popping subsides. Remove from microwave and let cool!

Frequently Asked Questions About Popcorn

Is Pop Secret Popcorn Gluten-Free?

Though Pop Secret doesn’t exclusively say they are gluten-free, they do state that all ingredients are listed on their packaging. No gluten containing ingredients are listed.

Is Smartfood Popcorn Gluten-Free?

Smartfood Popcorn is gluten-free, however, the company does suggest you look at the labeling for current information before purchasing.

Is Caramel Popcorn Gluten-Free?

Caramel Popcorn can be Gluten-Free, but it depends on the brand.

Caramel made from scratch is sugar, water, vanilla, milk, and salt which would be gluten free.

If you are looking for a gluten-free brand of caramel popcorn, I suggest G.H. Cretors. You can find it on Amazon here.

Is Orville Redenbacher Popcorn Gluten-Free?

Yes, Orville Redenbacher Popcorn is gluten-free.

As you can see, there are varieties of popcorn for you to enjoy on a gluten free diet that is already prepared or microwaveable.

Did you find this post on “Is popcorn gluten-free” helpful?

If so, be sure to share it on social using the share buttons below or pin it to Pinterest to save it for later!

What’s they key to loving your gluten free life? Take this quick quiz to get a personalized plan with the guide you need to thrive!

image of sharon mccaskill with computer with snag your ideal gluten free eating plan

>> Click here for your customized guide to success! <<

Other posts & recipes you will love:

Bowl of popcorn

Sharing is caring!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.