Is chocolate one of the special treats you like to enjoy once in a while, but follow a gluten-free diet? Then you might be wondering: Are Milky Ways gluten-free?
This guide will have the answer to all your Milky Ways questions.
Keep reading to learn more about Milky Ways or use the table of contents to jump to a specific section.
Are you new here? I also have the following posts to help you live gluten-free without the stress!
- How to eat out SAFELY when you’re gluten-free
- How to make ANY recipe gluten-free
- How to TRAVEL gluten-free and still have fun
…get valuable support from me, and gluten-free peers, in my EXCLUSIVE Facebook community “Stress-Free Gluten-Free” by clicking here!
The gluten-free guide below is based on personal experience and research. Always be sure to discuss any medical changes with your doctor for your personal medical needs. Additionally, this post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. My full disclosure isn’t that interesting, but you can find it here.
Ready to take back control of your meals and love your gluten free life? Take the 45 second quiz to get a personalized plan with the guide you need to thrive!
Are Milky Way Candy Bars Gluten-Free?
Milky Way Candy Bars are not gluten-free as they do contain Barley Malt Extract.
Gluten is a protein found in various different grains, including wheat, rye, barley, or oats if they weren’t grown separately from gluten-containing grains. You might see these ingredients on the ingredients list of the nutrient label instead of the word ‘gluten’ itself.
According to the FDA, a product can only have a gluten-free label in the United States if it contains less than 20 mg of gluten per kilogram.
If a product does not have a gluten free statement on the label, nor have any gluten containing ingredients on the ingredients list, sometimes it’s helpful to contact the company directly to inquire into whether the product has ‘hidden gluten’ or if it is perhaps has a strong chance of cross contact keeping the product from being labeled as gluten free.
We contacted Mars Wrigley North America to confirm about allergens in their products.
According to communication with Mars in January 2023:
“Please note that whether or not the product includes a “may contain” statement, it is never labeled as gluten free because we cannot guarantee that it is gluten free despite the cleaning and other protocols that we use at our sites.
We recommend that you check the ingredient statement and any allergen statements on the pack each time before consuming our product.”
Milky Way Ingredients:
Milky Way original candy bars are made of MILK CHOCOLATE (SUGAR, COCOA BUTTER, SKIM MILK, CHOCOLATE, LACTOSE, MILKFAT, SOY LECITHIN, ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR), CORN SYRUP, SUGAR, PALM OIL, SKIM MILK, LESS THAN 2% – MILKFAT, COCOA POWDER PROCESSED WITH ALKALI, BARLEY MALT EXTRACT, LACTOSE, SALT, EGG WHITES, CHOCOLATE, ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR.
Are Milky Ways Peanut Free?
Milky Way varieties may contain peanuts. Before purchasing I would recommend checking the label for ingredient information.
Are Milky Ways Dairy Free?
No, Milky Ways are not dairy free.
Are Fun Size Milky Way Gluten-Free?
No, Milky Way Fun Size Candy Bars are not gluten-free as they contain Barley Malt Extract.
Gluten-Free Milky Way Varieties?
Here are some varieties of Milky Way that are gluten-free based on being formulated without gluten-containing ingredients:
- Milky Way Midnight Dark Chocolate Candy Bars
However, keep in mind that while this product is formulated without any gluten-containing ingredients at the time of writing this article, the company itself does not guarantee these products as gluten-free and states that the product formulations may change. While they are likely safe on a gluten-free diet, you must use your own discretion on what you feel comfortable with.
Shop Milky Way Midnight Dark Chocolate Candy Bars on Amazon here.
Milky Way Products That Are Not Gluten-Free
- Milky Way Milk Chocolate Bar
- Milky Way Ice Cream Bars
- Milky Way Salted Caramel Chocolate Candy Bar
- Milky Way Cookie Dough Candy Bar
Gluten-Free Milky Way Alternatives
Here are some varieties of other chocolate candy bars that are gluten-free based on being formulated without gluten-containing ingredients:
According to Hershey, all Almond Joy bars (except Almond Joy Pieces) are gluten free.
Find Almond Joy on Amazon here.
Yes, 3 Musketeer bars are gluten free (basically the Milky Way without the caramel).
Find 3 Musketeers on Amazon here.
Yes, Bart Simpson’s favorite candy, Butterfingers, are gluten free. (note: Butterfinger Crisp is NOT gluten-free)
Find Butterfinger on Amazon here.
Manischewitz Caramel Cashew Patties
If it’s the caramel you’re after, try Manischewitz Caramel Cashew patties. These are both gluten free and Kosher.
Freakin’ Wholesome Caramel Almond Bites
Looking for a chocolate covered caramel flavored treat with a center that’s a consistency similar to nougat? These gluten free and vegan bites by Freakin’ Wholesome come pretty close.
Shop Freakin’ Wholesome Bites on Amazon here.
As you can see, most Milky Way bars are not gluten-free but you can enjoy other alternatives that are formulated without gluten.
Did you find this post on gluten-free milky ways helpful?
If so, be sure to share it on social using the share buttons below or pin it to Pinterest to save it for later!
What’s they key to loving your gluten free life? Take this quick quiz to get a personalized plan with the guide you need to thrive!
Other posts on gluten free candy you will love:
- Are Snickers Bars Gluten-Free?
- Are Gummy Bears Gluten-Free?
- Are Nerds Gluten-Free?
- Are Skittles Gluten-Free?