Gnocchi is a popular Italian dish known for its light and tender texture. If you follow a gluten free diet, you probably want to know โis gnocchi gluten freeโ?
Traditional gnocchi is not gluten free. The good news is that gnocchi can be made gluten free and enjoyed by those living a gluten free lifestyle. This article explores everything you need to know about gluten and gnocchi, and highlights some of the best brands of gluten free gnocchi products.
Keep reading or use the table of contents to jump around to the answers youโre looking for.
![](https://thehelpfulgf.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/02/gnocchi-gluten-free-thumbnail.jpg)
Are you new here? Here's tips to live gluten-free without the stress!
- How to eat out SAFELY when youโre gluten-free
- How to make ANY recipe gluten-free
- How to TRAVEL gluten-free and still have fun
โฆget valuable support in my EXCLUSIVE Facebook communityย โStress-Free Gluten-Freeโ by clicking here!
The gluten-free guide below is based on personal experience and research. Always be sure to discuss any medical changes with your doctor for your personal medical needs. Additionally, this post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. My full disclosure isnโt that interesting, but you can find it here.
What is Gnocchi?
Gnocchi is a type of Italian dish made from mashed potatoes, flour, eggs and salt. When combined, the ingredients form a dough that is rolled and cut into small pieces. The dough is then boiled like pasta and it is usually served with a tomato, pesto or cream sauce.
Take this quick quiz and uncover the secrets to making your gluten-free lifestyle not just manageable, but truly enjoyable with custom recipes and tips!
Is there a difference between gnocchi and potato gnocchi?
People often use the term gnocchi and potato gnocchi interchangeably because potato gnocchi is the most common type. Despite the generic use of the term gnocchi, there are actually several different kinds available.
What differentiates one kind of gnocchi from another is what is used as the main ingredient. In potato gnocchi, mashed potatoes are the main ingredient. Other types of gnocchi include pumpkin, spinach, ricotta, semolina, sweet potato, vegetable and bread gnocchi.
Is Gnocchi Gluten Free?
You may already know that traditional gnocchi is not gluten free, but you might be wondering: why is gnocchi not gluten-free? In short, itโs because gnocchi is made with flour.
While potatoes, eggs and salt are naturally gluten free, gnocchi is also made with wheat flour. Since wheat is one of the most common sources of gluten, along with rye and barley, anything made with any of these grains is not gluten free.
The good news is that even though traditional gnocchi contains gluten, gnocchi can be made with gluten free flour, giving you a perfect option for gluten free gnocchi.
Can You Eat Gnocchi if you have Celiac Disease?
If you or someone in your household has Celiac Disease, youโre probably wondering โcan celiacs eat gnocchi?โ. The answer is yes, as long as you choose a gluten free variety of gnocchi, and donโt have any allergies or intolerances to any of the other ingredients.
Some varieties are even suitable for other types of allergies as they are made without dairy or eggs. Carefully reading the label is the best way to determine whether or not it is safe to eat with your dietary needs.
What is gluten-free gnocchi made from?
Gluten free gnocchi are made primarily from mashed potatoes and gluten free flour. Rice flour tends to be a favorite for gluten free gnocchi recipes as it creates the delicate texture similar to traditional gnocchi.
There are plenty of gluten free alternatives to wheat flour. You can learn more about them in the Ultimate Guide to Gluten Free Flour.
What is a good substitute for gnocchi?
The closest substitute for gnocchi is gluten free gnocchi, as mentioned above. For a list of the best gluten free gnocchi brands, check out the next section below.
Other substitutes for gnocchi include:
- Gluten free ravioli
- Gluten free raviolini
- Gluten free tortellini
- Gluten free pasta
- Gluten free spaetzle
Where to Buy Gluten Free Gnocchi:
Finding gluten free foods has become so much easier lately and finding gluten free gnocchi is no different! If you prefer to shop in person, wherever you shop locally is likely to have gluten free gnocchi options.
For people who prefer to shop online or do online pick up orders, youโll find gluten free gnocchi at Amazon, GoPuff, Walmart, Target and my personal favorite online store, Thrive Market.
If you want to know more about how Thrive Market can save you money on a gluten-free diet check out my full review here.
Elevate your gluten-free lifestyle with the convenience of Thrive Market's grocery delivery โ join now and discover a world of delicious and wholesome options delivered straight to your doorstep!
Best Gluten Free Gnocchi Brands to Buy
Here's 8 of the top gluten-free gnocchi brands that promise to deliver the authentic Italian experience without the worry of gluten. Whether you have celiac or simply opting for a gluten-free lifestyle, this list of the best brands ensures you don't have to compromise on taste or texture.
-
$21.99
This gluten free potato gnocchi, made with maize flour is also vegan and egg free. It cooks in just 2-3 minutes and has that distinctively chewy texture that makes gnocchi so delicious.
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
01/19/2025 05:34 am GMT -
$46.98
The Aliessi gluten free gnocchi is made with a combination of corn flour and rice flour. It pairs perfectly with gluten free meat or alfredo sauces for a tasty side dish or a full meal on its own.
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
04/15/2024 01:52 pm GMT -
$48.88
The DeLallo gluten free gnocchi is certified gluten free! Itโs made with rice flour and is sulfite, egg and nut free. These gnocchi have a light and airy texture and taste great.
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
01/19/2025 05:08 am GMT -
If you have several dietary restrictions Capelloโs potato gnocchi could be a great fit. Itโs gluten free, grain free, dairy free, paleo friendly and vegetarian. Itโs made with almond flour, cage-free eggs and potatoes.
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
-
If youโre looking for sweet potato gnocchi thatโs gluten free the Capelloโs brand has you covered. Like their potato gnocchi, this sweet potato gnocchi is gluten free, grain free, dairy free, paleo and vegetarian.
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
-
$14.98
Corabella gluten free gnocchi is made with premium potato and rice flour. These gnocchi can be boiled, baked or pan-heated for a quick and delicious meal. Pairs well with pesto, marinara, alfredo, or creamy sauces.
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
01/19/2025 05:34 am GMT -
If you prefer an organic gluten free gnocchi, the Isola Italian brand is what you need. Isola Potato Gnocchi is produced in Puglia, Italy. This Gnocchi is shelf stable and unique as there are no other products like this on the market.
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
-
$31.99
When it comes to De Cecco gluten free gnocchi, corn is the source of the color and taste, while the softness and intense flavor comes from using 75% fresh potato puree. These gnocchi are rich in flavor, taste and consistency.
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/28/2024 04:34 pm GMT
Frequently asked questions about gnocchi and gluten:
Are Trader Joe's cauliflower gnocchi gluten-free?
Yes, Trader Joe's Cauliflower Gnocchi is gluten-free. It is made with cauliflower, cassava flour, and potato starch, which are all gluten-free ingredients.
Is Aldi gnocchi gluten free?
While Aldi gnocchi doesnโt list any gluten containing ingredients on the package, it is not labeled gluten free (as many Aldi products are!) Cross contamination may be a concern with this product. The safest thing to do is look for an alternative that is labeled or certified gluten free.
Is De Cecco potato gnocchi gluten-free?
De Cecco offers multiple varieties of gnocchi including a gluten free option. The Gluten Free De Cecco gnocchi is the only one safe for gluten free consumption.
Is Olive Garden gnocchi gluten-free?
Olive Garden serves gnocchi in their Chicken and Gnocchi Soup. According to their allergen guide the soup does contain wheat and gluten. They also mention that cross contact is a concern in their kitchens.
Did you find this post for the Best Gluten Free Gnocchi Brands helpful?
If so, use the social sharing buttons below to share it on social media or pin it to Pinterest for easy reference later!
Unveil the keys to gluten-free success!
Get customized recipes, tips, and resources that match your unique vibe.
Other Best of Gluten Free Posts Youโll Love:
- Best Gluten Free Egg Noodles
- Best Gluten Free Mac and Cheese
- Best Gluten Free Beef Jerky
- Best Gluten Free Waffles
Leave a Reply