Skip to Content

Is Yeast Gluten-Free? 

Sharing is caring!

With cooler weather here, you may be enjoying more time in the kitchen baking more of your favorite recipes and seeing that they call for yeast. It may have you wondering: Is yeast gluten-free?

This article will answer all your questions about yeast and gluten including a list of the best gluten-free brands to try and where to buy them. 

Use the Table of Contents below to navigate to the section of your choice or keep reading for the best gluten-free brands.


Are you new here? I also have the following posts to help you live gluten-free without the stress!

…get valuable support from me, and gluten-free peers, in my EXCLUSIVE Facebook community “Stress-Free Gluten-Free” by clicking here!


The gluten-free guide below is based on personal experience and research.  Always be sure to discuss any medical changes with your doctor for your personal medical needs. Additionally, this post contains affiliate links.  As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. My full disclosure isn’t that interesting, but you can find it here

Ready to take back control of your meals and love your gluten free life? Take the 45 second quiz to get a personalized plan with the guide you need to thrive!

image of sharon mccaskill with computer with snag your ideal gluten free eating plan

>> Click here for your custom guide to success! <<

Are All Yeast Gluten-Free?

No, not all yeasts are gluten-free. This post will go through the more common yeast varieties and whether or not they fit in a gluten-free diet.

Gluten is a protein found in various different grains, including wheat, rye, barley, or oats if they weren’t grown separately from gluten-containing grains. You might see these ingredients on the ingredients list of the nutrient label instead of the word ‘gluten’ itself.

According to the FDA, a product can only be labeled as gluten-free in the United States if it contains less than 20 ppm of gluten, so you will want to watch for cross-contact during processing.

Can Celiacs Eat Yeast? 

Yes, someone with celiac disease can eat yeast, as long as it it is one of the gluten free varieties (they are listed below!)

With more and more people being diagnosed with Celiac Disease it is important to know what yeast options are available and safe to use. 

Is Baker’s Yeast Gluten-Free?

Yes, baker’s yeast is usually gluten-free. The brands shared in this post are gluten-free. 

Gluten-Free Active Dry Yeast

Active dry yeast is a dried, granulated form of baker’s yeast. When using Active Dry Yeast it needs to be dissolved in water. 

Try Red Star, Active Dry Yeast

Red Star, Active Dry Yeast is not only gluten-free, but dairy-free and nut-free as well.

2-Pack Red Star Active Dry Yeast Three 0.25 oz packets

This brand is great to keep on hand and works perfectly for all your baking needs. 

You can shop for Red Star, Active Dry Yeast at Thrive Market here.

Or snag Red Star, Active Dry Yeast on Amazon here.

Gluten-Free Instant Yeast

Instant yeast is also a dried, granulated form of baker’s yeast, but smaller granules than active dry yeast. It is quicker to use since it doesn’t need to be proofed or activated prior to using, just mix it in with all your dry ingredients and bake!

Anthony’s Instant Dry Yeast

Anthony’s is one of my absolute favorite brands for gluten free baking essentials. Their Instant Dry Yeast is certified gluten-free.

This brand is great to use in all your favorite baking recipes.  

You can shop for Anthony’s Instant Dry Yeast on Amazon here.

Is Brewer’s Yeast Gluten-Free?

No, Brewer’s Yeast is not gluten-free. Brewer’s yeast is a byproduct of the beer brewing process and contains gluten from the barley used to make beer. 

Is Fresh Yeast Gluten-Free?

Yes, fresh yeast is naturally gluten-free.

Is Nutritional Yeast Gluten-Free?

Nutritional yeast is naturally gluten-free, just watch out that it is not processed with gluten-containing ingredients. 

Learn more about how to use nutritional yeast and the best gluten free brands here!

Is Torula Yeast Gluten-Free?

Yes, Torula Yeast is naturally gluten-free. 

Is Yeast Extract Gluten-Free?

Sometimes yeast extract can be gluten-free. However, it can have barley in it. Since Barley isn’t a top 9 allergen it doesn’t have to be disclosed on a label. 

When purchasing something containing ‘yeast extract,’ look for something specifically labeled gluten-free.

Is Autolyzed Yeast Gluten-Free?

Yes, Autolyzed Yeast is gluten-free.

However, it is important to note that autolyzed yeast extract is not gluten-free as it is made from barley. 

Frequently Asked Questions About Gluten And Yeast:

Is There Yeast In Gluten-Free Bread?

Yes, there is yeast in gluten-free bread if it’s yeast-risen bread. 

Is Red Star Active Dry Yeast Gluten-Free?

Yes, Red Star Active Dry Yeast is gluten-free.

Is Fleischmann’s Yeast Gluten-Free?

Yes, Fleischmann’s Yeast is gluten-free.

Did you find this post on yeast and gluten helpful?

If so, be sure to share it on social using the share buttons below or pin it to Pinterest to save it for later!

What’s they key to loving your gluten free life? Take this quick quiz to get a personalized plan with the guide you need to thrive!

image of sharon mccaskill with computer with snag your ideal gluten free eating plan

>> Click here for your customized guide to success! <<

Other posts & recipes you will love:

spoon of yeast on white counter

Sharing is caring!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.