Skip to Content

Is Ketchup Gluten-Free?

Sharing is caring!

Are you looking for the best gluten-free ketchup to enjoy with your burgers, hotdogs, and fries? Keep reading to learn more about “Is Ketchup Gluten-Free?” 

In this article, I’ll cover how you can still enjoy ketchup, a list of gluten-free brands to try, and where to buy them. 

Use the Table of Contents below to navigate to the section of your choice or keep reading for more information.

Are you new here? I also have the following posts to help you live gluten-free without the stress!

…get valuable support from me, and gluten-free peers, in my EXCLUSIVE Facebook community “Stress-Free Gluten-Free” by clicking here!

The gluten-free guide below is based on personal experience and research.  Always be sure to discuss any medical changes with your doctor for your personal medical needs. Additionally, this post contains affiliate links.  As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. My full disclosure isn’t that interesting, but you can find it here

Ready to take back control of your meals and love your gluten free life? Take the 45 second quiz to get a personalized plan with the guide you need to thrive!

image of sharon mccaskill with computer with snag your ideal gluten free eating plan

>> Click here for your custom guide to success! <<

Ketchup is naturally gluten-free as it contains no wheat, barley, or rye, however, there are brands that may use wheat-derived vinegar or be produced in a facility where it is cross-contact with gluten-containing foods.

Gluten is a protein found in various different grains, including wheat, rye, barley, or oats if they weren’t grown separately from gluten-containing grains. You might see these ingredients on the ingredients list of the nutrient label instead of the word ‘gluten’ itself. 

According to the FDA, a product can only be labeled as gluten-free in the United States if it contains less than 20 mg of gluten per kilogram, you will want to watch for cross-contact during processing.

What is Ketchup?

Ketchup is a household condiment that is made of pureed tomatoes, and may include sugar, vinegar, and spices. 

Ketchup is often used as a topping on burgers and hotdogs or as a dip for French Fries and other finger foods.

Is Ketchup okay for Celiacs?

For someone who has Celiac Disease, it is so important that you check the labels of Ketchup and ensure it is gluten-free. 

An ingredient you will want to watch out for is vinegar. It may be malt vinegar, which is derived from barley and contains gluten and will trigger the autoimmune response for people who have celiac disease. 

Some other ingredients that may contain gluten in ketchup are stabilizers and flavoring/seasonings. 

With more and more people being diagnosed with Celiac Disease or choosing to live a gluten-free lifestyle, there are great companies that now offer gluten-free ketchup. 

Make sure to keep reading to learn more about the brands. 

Where To Buy Gluten-Free Ketchup?

Buying gluten-free ketchup isn’t as hard as you might think. You should be able to find some at your local grocery store.

You can also order them online via Amazon, Whole Foods, or Thrive Market

Click here to learn more about Thrive Market & get a free gift worth up to $24 on your first order! 

Which Ketchup Brands Are Gluten-Free?

Many of the regular Ketchup brands you see in the grocery store are gluten-free, but you can also find many that are sugar-free, low sodium, fodmap, or suitable for a paleo diet. 

Best Gluten-Free Ketchup Brands

Here’s a quick glance of the best brands for gluten free ketchup, keep reading for more details and where to buy them!

Thrive Market Organic Ketchup

Thrive Market Organic Ketchup is gluten-free, dairy-free, and soy-free.

Thrive Market Organic Ketchup 20 oz bottle

Make all your favorite foods taste better with Thrive Market Organic Ketchup! 

To shop for Thrive Market Organic Ketchup, visit Thrive Market here.

Primal Kitchen Organic Unsweetened Ketchup

Primal Kitchen Organic Unsweetened Ketchup is gluten-free, dairy-free, paleo, and Whole30 approved! 

This might be the best ketchup you ever have! You may also want to try their Spicy Ketchup for a twist.

Good Food For Good

Good Food For Good Organic Ketchup is unsweetened, gluten-free, dairy-free, plant-based, and paleo.  

This kid-approved ketchup is not only yummy but is full of clean ingredients! It also has a spicy option.

Heinz Tomato Organic Ketchup

Good news–Heinz ketchup is gluten free! I love the Heinz Tomato Organic Ketchup which is gluten-free, certified organic, and vegetarian/vegan friendly. 

This ketchup has No-GMO, and no high-fructose corn syrup, and is just as great tasting as the classic Heinz ketchup (which is also gluten free!) 

You can shop for all varieties of Heinz Ketchup on Amazon here.

Annie’s Organic Ketchup

Annie’s Organic Ketchup is gluten-free, certified organic, and has no high fructose corn syrup. 

Annie's Organic Ketchup 24 oz bottle

A family favorite that everyone is sure to enjoy!

To shop for Annie’s Organic Ketchup, visit Thrive Market here.

Fody Foods Vegan Tomato Ketchup

This ketchup by Fody Foods is not only gluten free, but it is perfect for someone following a low FODMAP diet as it doesn’t contain any onion or garlic.

It’s perfect for people with a more sensitive stomach.

Noble Made Tomato Ketchup

Noble Made Tomato Ketchup is gluten-free, Whole30 approved, paleo-friendly, certified Keto, and Non-GMO Project Verified. 

Ready to take your burgers and hotdogs to the next level, Noble Made Tomato Ketchup is what you need!

Shop Noble Made Tomato Ketchup on Amazon.

Yo Mama’s Keto Classic Ketchup

Yo Mama’s Keto Classic Ketchup has the perfect ketchup taste with low sodium and no added sugar! 

This ketchup is made with whole tomatoes and both the classic and spicy flavors taste totally homemade. 

Shop Yo Mama’s Keto Classic Ketchup on Amazon.

Sir Kensington’s Classic Ketchup 

Sir Kensington’s Classic Ketchup is gluten-free, certified vegan, Non-GMO Project Verified and Shelf Stable.  

Does anything get any better than Sir Kensington’s Classic Ketchup? You’ll have to see for yourself! 

Find Sir Kensington’s Classic Ketchup on Amazon.

Frequently Asked Questions About Ketchup And Gluten

Is Heinz Ketchup Gluten-Free?

Yes, Heinz Ketchup is gluten-free.

Is Heinz Ketchup in Canada Gluten-Free?

Yes, Heinz Ketchup in Canada is gluten-free, however, you may want to check the labeling before purchasing.

Is Hunt’s Catsup Gluten-Free?

Hunt’s Catsup is naturally gluten-free, however, it is not labeled gluten-free. If you want to be 100% safe, be sure to look for a brand that is labeled gluten-free.

Is Western Family Ketchup Gluten-Free? 

You will want to check the label of Western Family Ketchup before purchasing if you have allergens as it may have been cross-contaminated with other gluten-containing products.

As you can see, there are great options available for you to enjoy gluten-free table crackers. 

Did you find this post on gluten-free ketchup helpful? If so, be sure to share it on social using the share buttons below or pin it to Pinterest to save it for later!

What’s they key to loving your gluten free life? Take this quick quiz to get a personalized plan with the guide you need to thrive!

image of sharon mccaskill with computer with snag your ideal gluten free eating plan

>> Click here for your customized guide to success! <<

Other posts & recipes you will love:

gf ketchup pouring onto plate out of a glass bottle with pinterest text: is ketchup gluten free?

Sharing is caring!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.