Skip to Content

Are Marshmallows Gluten-Free?

Sharing is caring!

Getting ready for camping season? If you are following a gluten-free diet, you might be wondering, are marshmallows gluten-free?

Marshmallows are an essential part of campfires, hot chocolate, and s’more making.

This guide will have the answer to your marshmallow questions including vegan recommendations. 

Keep reading to learn more about marshmallows including gluten-free brand recommendations or use the table of contents to jump to a specific section.


Are you new here? I also have the following posts to help you live gluten-free without the stress!

…get valuable support from me, and gluten-free peers, in my EXCLUSIVE Facebook community “Stress-Free Gluten-Free” by clicking here!


The gluten-free guide below is based on personal experience and research.  Always be sure to discuss any medical changes with your doctor for your personal medical needs. Additionally, this post contains affiliate links.  As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. My full disclosure isn’t that interesting, but you can find it here


gf made easy square mockup

Grab your FREE copy of Gluten-Free Made Easy!

15+ pages of essential resources to make living gluten-free totally stress free.


Are Marshmallows Gluten-Free?

Most Marshmallows should be naturally gluten-free, but you should always double-check the ingredients lists to make sure there are no gluten-containing ingredients.

Gluten is a protein found in various different grains, including wheat, rye, barley, or oats if they weren’t grown separately from gluten-containing grains. You might see these ingredients on the ingredients list of the nutrient label instead of the word ‘gluten’ itself.

According to the FDA, a product can only have a gluten-free label in the United States if it contains less than 20 mg of gluten per kilogram, you will want to watch for cross-contact during processing.

If you’re looking for certified gluten-free marshmallows, not just ones that are gluten-free based on not containing gluten ingredients, I’ve listed a few brands below and where you can buy them.

Are Marshmallows Dairy-Free?

Marshmallows are made from sugar, water, and gelatin, making them completely dairy-free. 

Can People With Celiac Eat Marshmallows?

Yes, it is safe for people with celiac disease to eat marshmallows, you just need to check to be sure there are not any gluten-containing ingredients.

While most marshmallows are gluten-free but just to be safe, give the label a check just to make sure–especially when dealing with flavored marshmallows as additional ingredients are added. 

Best Gluten-Free Marshmallow Brands

Here are some brands that make gluten-free marshmallows, and some are even certified gluten-free.

Campfire Marshmallows

Campfire Marshmallows are gluten-free and made with natural vanilla and no artificial flavors.

campfire marshmallows

A perfect treat for camping, birthday parties, or any special event.

Shop Campfire Marshmallows on Amazon here.

Kraft Jet-Puffed Marshmallows

Kraft Jet-Puffed Marshmallows are easy to find, gluten-free and fun for the whole family!

kraft jet puffed marshmallows

Shop this family-friendly marshmallow brand on Amazon here.

You can also add them to your Target pick up order here.

Best Gluten-Free Vegan Marshmallow Brands

If you are looking for vegan-friendly marshmallows, here are some good options to check out.

Regular marshmallows are made from gelatin, but in order for them to be vegan, it has to be formulated vegan, and instead, they will use plant-based products.  

Dandies Vegan Marshmallows

Dandies Vegan Marshmallows are not only yummy but they are also gluten-free and vegan!

They come on regular sized marshmallows for smore making or mini for baking & hot chocolate.

dandies vegan marshmallows

A great addition to have in your household to bake with or enjoy a handful as a snack.

Shop Dandies Vegan Mini-Marshmallows on Thrive Market here or you can snag them on Amazon here.

Trader Joe’s Marshmallows

These jumbo-sized marshmallows are gluten-free and vegan, and they’re perfect to enjoy over a campfire!

trader joes marshmallows

Find Trader Joe’s Gluten-Free Marshmallows at Trader Joe’s or on Amazon here.

Is Marshmallow Fluff Gluten-Free? What About Marshmallow Creme?

If you’re craving a gluten-free fluffernutter (peanut butter fluff sandwich), then you may be wondering if marshmallow fluff or marshmallow creme is gluten-free. 

Good news: All flavors of Marshmallow Fluff are gluten-free (including strawberry)! 

The original Marshmallow Fluff ingredients are corn syrup, sugar, egg white, and artificial flavoring. It also has no fat and no cholesterol.

To shop Marshmallow Fluff you can find it on Amazon here.

Marshmallow Creme is gluten-free and made up of corn syrup, sugar, water, dried egg whites, cream of tartar, xanthan gum, and artificial and natural flavoring. 

To shop Jet-Puffed Marshmallow Creme, find it on Amazon here.

As you can see, you can enjoy both Marshmallow Fluff and Marshmallow Creme. These great additions will be great to have on hand not only for your fluffernutter but also to add to other great recipes!

Frequently Asked Questions About Marshmallows And Gluten

Are Jet-Puffed Marshmallow Bites Gluten-Free?

Yes, Jet-Puffed Marshmallow Bites are gluten-free. 

Are Kraft Jet-Puffed Marshmallows Gluten-Free?

Yes, Kraft Jet-Puffed Marshmallows are gluten-free

Are Dandies Marshmallows Gluten-Free?

Yes, Dandies Marshmallows are gluten-free and vegan friendly. 

Are Campfire Marshmallows Gluten-Free?

Yes, Campfire Marshmallows are gluten-free and allergen-friendly. To learn more visit their site here.

Are Trader Joe’s Marshmallows Gluten-Free?

Yes, Trader Joe’s Marshmallows are gluten-free.

Are Kroger Marshmallows Gluten-Free?

Kroger Marshmallows are made without gluten-containing ingredients but do not have a gluten-free claim on the packaging.

Are Great Value Marshmallows Gluten-Free?

Great Value Marshmallows have no ingredients that contain gluten, however, they do not have a gluten-free claim on the packaging.

As you can see, there is no need to worry, you can enjoy safe options for gluten-free Marshmallows to help you with your camping and baking needs. 

Did you find this post on gluten-free marshmallows helpful? If so, be sure to share it on social using the share buttons below or pin it to Pinterest to save it for later!


gf made easy square mockup

Grab your FREE copy of Gluten-Free Made Easy!

Over 15 pages of essential resources for living gluten-free without the stress in an easy to use reference guide.


Other posts & recipes you will love:

image text gluten-free marshmallows

Sharing is caring!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.