Are you a chocolate lover that follows a gluten-free diet? With so many chocolate options available you might be wondering: Are Reese’s gluten-free?
The answer is YES, the original Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups are gluten-free–but not all Reese’s products are.
In this article, we'll explore what Reese's products are gluten-free, how they ensure products are safe for those with a gluten allergy or intolerance, and offer a few tasty recipe ideas for everyone to enjoy.
Keep reading to learn more about gluten-free options or use the table of contents to jump to a specific section.
Are you new here? Here's tips to live gluten-free without the stress!
- How to eat out SAFELY when you’re gluten-free
- How to make ANY recipe gluten-free
- How to TRAVEL gluten-free and still have fun
…get valuable support in my EXCLUSIVE Facebook community “Stress-Free Gluten-Free” by clicking here!
The gluten-free guide below is based on personal experience and research. Always be sure to discuss any medical changes with your doctor for your personal medical needs. Additionally, this post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. My full disclosure isn’t that interesting, but you can find it here.
Take this quick quiz and uncover the secrets to making your gluten-free lifestyle not just manageable, but truly enjoyable with custom recipes and tips!
Are All Reese’s Gluten-Free?
Reese’s offers a variety of gluten-free options but it is important to note that not all products are gluten-free. Before we discuss which Reese's products are gluten free, we need to discuss what gluten even is!
Gluten is a protein found in various different grains, including wheat, rye, barley, or oats if they weren’t grown separately from gluten-containing grains. You might see these ingredients on the ingredients list of the nutrient label instead of the word ‘gluten’ itself.
According to the FDA, a product can only have a gluten-free label in the United States if it contains less than 20 mg of gluten per kilogram.
If a product does not have a gluten free statement on the label, nor have any gluten containing ingredients on the ingredients list, sometimes it’s helpful to contact the company directly to inquire into whether the product has ‘hidden gluten.’
According to the Hersheyland website, Reese’s does enact strict cleaning protocols for allergens (including wheat) in their manufacturing plants, and states that they clearly label for the presence of allergens on the ingredients label and in “contains” statements. Due to this, Hershey guides, “We encourage you to check the ingredient and allergen information on the package for information about a product.” This is because ingredients can change at any time!
So before consuming Reese's--even a product that has been considered safe in the past COULD be reformulated with a gluten containing ingredient.
Are Reese’s Gluten And Dairy Free?
No, Reese’s products are not gluten and dairy free. Reese’s does offer Plant-Based Oat Chocolate Confection & Peanut Butter Cups that are certified vegan but it does contain oat flour making it potentially unsafe for someone who is gluten-free or has Celiac disease.
Are Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups Safe For Celiacs?
Yes, those with Celiac Disease can enjoy some Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups. Since not all Reese’s products are gluten-free, you will want to check the packaging to ensure no ingredients contain gluten.
Keep reading to find out what products are gluten-free.
Shop Gluten Free Products in this Post
Which Reese’s Products Are Gluten-Free?
Below is a list of products that are gluten-free at the time of publishing this article:
- Reese’s Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups
- Reese’s Creamy Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups
- Reese’s Crunchy Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups
- Reese’s Fast Break Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups
- Reese’s Chocolate Lovers Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups
- Reese’s Easter White Creme Miniatures Peanut Butter Cups
- Reese’s Easter Milk Chocolate Miniatures Peanut Butter Cups
- Reese’s Pieces Peanut Butter Candy
- Reese’s Mallow-Top Marshmallow Creme With Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups
- Reese’s Valentine’s Milk Chocolate Miniatures Peanut Butter Cups
- Reese’s Franken-Cup Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups
- Reese’s Big Cup with Reese’s Puffs Cereal Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups
- Reese’s Big Cup Holiday Peanut Brittle Peanut Butter Cups
- Reese’s Big Cup with Pretzels Peanut Butter Cup
- Reese’s Stuffed with Pieces Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups
- Reese’s Pieces Peanut Butter Baking Cups and Candy
- Reese’s Big Cup with Potato Chips Peanut Butter Cups
- Reese’s Peanut Butter Chips
- Reese’s Nutrageous Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Candy
- Reese’s White Creme Peanut Butter Cups
- Reese’s Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups
Which Reese’s Products Are Not Gluten-Free?
Below is a list of products that contain gluten at the time of publishing this article:
- Reese’s Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Frozen Dairy Dessert Bars
- Reese’s Chocolate Peanut Butter Frozen Dairy Dessert Sandwiches
- Reese’s Peanut Butter & Chocolate Duo Frozen Dairy Dessert Cones
- Reese’s Peanut Butter Light Ice Cream
- Reese’s Chocolate Peanut Butter Frozen Dairy Dessert
- Reese’s Pieces Mini Vanilla Peanut Butter Light Ice Cream
- Reese’s Chocolate Drizzled Peanut Butter Popcorn
- Reese’s Dipped Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Animal Crackers
- Reese’s Dipped Pretzels Dark Chocolate
- Reese’s Dipped Pretzels Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Snack
- Reese’s Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Snack Cake
Frequently Asked Questions:
Are Reese’s Pieces Gluten-Free?
Yes, Reese’s Pieces are gluten-free.
Are Reese’s Puffs Gluten-Free?
While there are no gluten-containing ingredients on the ingredients label, General Mills Gluten-Free Policy States: The best way to see if a product has been verified as gluten-free is to check the package label. We label our gluten-free products with "GLUTEN FREE" below or near the ingredients listing.
Per General Mills policy, since Reese’s Puffs have no clear gluten-free designation they have not been verified by General Mills to have ingredients that are gluten-free or claim that the product is free of cross contact.
Are Reese’s Peanut Butter Eggs Gluten-Free?
Reese’s Peanut Butter Eggs are not currently listed on the Hersheyland gluten-free list nor do they have a gluten-free claim.
Are Reese’s Hearts Gluten-Free?
Reese’s Hearts are not currently listed on the Hersheyland gluten-free list nor do they have a gluten-free claim.
Are Reese’s White Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups Gluten-Free?
Yes, Reese’s White Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups are gluten-free.
Did you find this post on gluten-free candy helpful?
If so, be sure to share it on social using the share buttons below or pin it to Pinterest to save it for later!
What's they key to loving your gluten free life? Get your personalized plan with the guide you need to thrive!
Other Gluten-Free Candy Reviews:
- Are Hershey Kisses Gluten-Free?
- Are Milky Ways Gluten-Free?
- Are Snickers Bars Gluten-Free?
- Are Gummy Bears Gluten-Free?
- Are Swedish Fish Gluten-Free?
- Are Nerds Gluten-Free?
- Are Skittles Gluten-Free?
- 9 Best Gluten-Free Gum Brands
Leave a Reply